• Graduate program
    • Why Tinbergen Institute?
    • Program Structure
    • Courses
    • Course Registration
    • Facilities
    • Admissions
    • Recent PhD Placements
  • Research
  • News
  • Events
    • Summer School
      • Inequalities in Health and Healthcare
      • Research on Productivity, Trade, and Growth
      • Behavioral Macro and Complexity
    • Events Calendar
    • Tinbergen Institute Lectures
    • Annual Tinbergen Institute Conference
    • Events Archive
  • Alumni
  • Times

Amsterdam-Rotterdam Consortium for Graduate Education (ARC)

The Tinbergen Institute research master program is governed by the Amsterdam-Rotterdam Consortium for Graduate Education (ARC). ARC is the umbrella organization for all graduate (PhD) education of the Schools of Economics and Econometrics of Erasmus University Rotterdam (EUR), University of Amsterdam (UvA) and Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam (VU). 

Members of the Supervisory Board of ARC

Professor H.G. van Dissel, Dean Amsterdam School of Economics and Business, University of Amsterdam
Professor P.J.F. Groenen, Dean Erasmus School of Economics, Erasmus University
Professor A. van Witteloostuijn, Dean School of Business and Economics, VU Amsterdam

Members of the Advisory Board of ARC

Professor J.W. Gunning (Emeritus Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam), Chair
Professor M. Timmer (VICI Laureate, University of Groningen and CPB Netherlands)
Professor J. Haskel (Imperial College and Bank of England Monetary Policy Committee)
Professor G. Imbens (Stanford University)
Professor Anja Lambrecht (London Business School)

ARC Board 

The ARC Board supervises the day-to-day business and has one member: Professor E.J. Bartelsman

Research Council

The Research Council is comprised of the leaders in the research fields within the TI Research Institute. 

Admission Board

The Admission Board is in charge of student admissions and the allocation of scholarships of Tinbergen Institute. The Admission Board of Tinbergen Institute is comprised of fellows of the three Schools of Economics of the Erasmus University Rotterdam (EUR), University of Amsterdam (UvA) and Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam (VU). 

Members of the Admission Board are:
Martijn van den Assem 
Richard Paap
Randolph Sloof
Contact the Admission Board 

Educational Board

The Educational Board consists of six members. Three members are from the teaching staff and three members are students in the research master program (for distributional reasons students delegate four members; three of them have the right to vote). The Educational Board issues advice, both solicited and unsolicited, to the Director of Graduate Studies on all matters concerning the educational program, with the objective of maintaining or improving the quality of the program.

Members of the Educational Board are:
Bas van der Klaauw (Chair)
Thomas Buser
Sebastian Gryglewicz
Diego Dabed Sitnisky
Sindri Engilbertsson
Aishameriane Schmidt
HyeJin Kim

Examination Board

The main duty of the Examination Board is to supervise all aspects of the quality assurance of the examinations and to determine whether a student fulfils the conditions for obtaining the degree, as defined in the Academic and Examination Regulations. The Examination Board decides on any student requests for exemptions and deviations from the program. 

Members of the Examination Board are:
Pieter Gautier (Chair)
Randolph Sloof
Chen Zhou
Vacancy (external member)
Contact the Examination Board

Student Council Officers

The student council is a joint council together with the Business Data Research reseseach master students. The Student Council is an independent student body that both informs and advises students, and organizes regular social events. For more information and agenda, look here

Student Council officers are:
Antonia Kurz
Yasmine van der Straten
Stephanie van der Veen