• Graduate program
    • Why Tinbergen Institute?
    • Program Structure
    • Courses
    • Course Registration
    • Recent PhD Placements
    • Facilities
    • Admissions
  • Research
  • News
  • Events
    • Summer School
      • Crash Course in Experimental Economics
      • Introduction in Genome-Wide Data Analysis
      • Research on Productivity, Trade, and Growth
      • Econometric Methods for Forecasting and Data Science
  • Times
Home | News | Presentation of KVS Preadviezen: ‘Nobel Laureates Meet Policy Makers’
News | November 29, 2019 |

Presentation of KVS Preadviezen: ‘Nobel Laureates Meet Policy Makers’

The Royal Netherlands Economic Association (KVS) will present its annual publication ‘Preadviezen’ on December 4, 2019, commemorating 50 years since Jan Tinbergen won the first Nobel Prize in Economic Sciences.

Presentation of KVS Preadviezen: ‘Nobel Laureates Meet Policy Makers’

The volume (published in English) is edited by Eric Bartelsman (Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam) and Esther-Mirjam Sent (Radboud University). The volume will focus on the interaction between economic science and policy through a series of interviews with Nobel Prize Laureates and policy makers---Jim Heckman and Laura van Geest; Joe Stiglitz and Ángel Gurría; Chris Pissarides and Eric Wiebes; Lars Peter Hansen and Peter Praet; Angus Deaton and Wouter Koolmees.

The presentation of the Preadviezen will take place under the supervision of host Esther van Rijswijk. Erwin Dekker (EUR), Laura van Geest (CPB), Henk Nijboer (Lower House of Parliament) and Ben Vollaard (Tilburg University) respond to the Preadviezen. There will then be an opportunity for discussion with the audience, to which young economists are explicitly invited. The meeting adjourns with a Borrel.

Published (open access) on November 30: Chapter 1: 'A master class in policy research. A conversation between James Heckman and Laura van Geest in memory of Jan Tinbergen'.

Read also 'Reflections of the moderators. A Conversation between Eric Bartelsman and Esther-Mirjam Sent in memory of Jan Tinbergen.'